The library is a research centre where resources can be accessed at the library or online. This page aims to get library users started on their research journey. For more detailed research assistance, book an appointment with the librarian at firstname.lastname@example.org. Please include your research topic and all research you have done so far.
Databases and Access: The College's databases are hosted on OpenAthens, our single sign-on service. Contact the Library to inquire about your Open Athens account.
Study this research strategy guide to help you conduct research more effectively.
During your study you will be warned by your lecturers about the quality of the search results you find using Google (or any other search engine).
Always check your search results critically! There are many questions to ask when you find an information source online (Is it current? Who is the author? Can I trust the source? Is it relevant to my needs?)
Search engines like Google may be very convenient to begin an information search but they only enable you to retrieve a very small part of all existing academic literature, because they do not have access to the databases that are used by libraries for library catalogues and bibliographies and to full-text publishers' databases. At Independent College, for example, the library grants access to EBSCO.
However, sometimes a Google search can be a good way to start your information quest. You may sometimes come across relevant references using Google, or Wikipedia. This can help lead you to more academic sources.
An alternative to Google. Bing, Yahoo, or Microsoft Edge, is Google Scholar which is much more useful for finding scholarly publications than the regular Google. However, you will get much better results by searching in the databases the Library offers.
Have you found a useful article but are blocked by a paywall?? Watch the below video and follow the tips!
It can be very challenging to begin any research project. Making a research plan helps break down the research process. Use the below document to get you started! It is a Beginner's version of the research rubric.
Remember that brainstorming is about identifying topics and potential subjects, including keywords. The goal is to make your information search strategy more effective and topic-specific, moving from a broad to a narrow topic :)
Use the above rubric to assist you in planning research
Topics: What are your topics of interest? Can you be specific? You should be moving from a broad area of interest to a more specific focus in terms of your research questions. E.g., the environment > The environment and renewable energy
Related Concepts: Identify key concepts in relation to your research topic, making it easier to identify what information you need and helping you start planning a strategy. e.g., The environment and renewable energy > wind energy and wind farms, environmental impact etc.
Keywords: You can then identify a combination of keywords using BOOLEAN (AND, OR, NOT), i.e., Renewable energy AND local communities. Wind farms AND impact NOT support, renewable OR green energy, "wind farm community benefits" etc.
Sources: Choose a trusted source - the library databases are always a good start! Including websites with a trusted domain, for example: .ie, .gov, .org, .edu
Search: Conduct a search narrowing your search by using limiters or by setting your own search parameters. Some examples are listed below:
Evaluate: using CRAAP: Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy, and Purpose. Are your sources fit for purpose?