Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Law : Home

Start Here

The library has a variety of books, eBooks, databases, and journals relevant to Law. This guide will point you towards those resources as well as a list of recommended online resources, and research strategies and tips. Be sure also to check out the Library Research Guide for tips on referencing and avoiding plagiarism. 

Physical items are classified using the Dewey Decimal system and so each item will have a unique call number. Users can search the catalogue using the Liberty system. Users can log in to their account and reserve items or renew (where possible) items they currently have on loan. 

Library users are reminded that a lot of items from the Law collection are Reference items and so can only be used in the library. These items will clearly be marked Reference both in the library and on the library catalogue. 

eBooks

 

 

 

 

 

eBooks can be found on two platforms: VLEbooks and on the EBSCO eBooks Business Collection.

Both are accessed via Open Athens. Be sure to check out the Library Lists on VLEbooks which groups essential reading titles together for specific subjects. 

You can visit the library Moodle page and check out the instructional videos on how to use each of these resources. 

Books

The Library uses the Dewey Decimal Classification (DDC) System.

Browse the following DDC numbers relevant to the Law collection, to the right side of the library. Note also the Reference section.

340                               Law (General)

340.50417                   Irish Legal System      

341.2422                      EU Law

341.48                          Human Rights Law     

342.417                        Irish Constitutional Law         

343.099                        Media Law     

344.010417                 Irish Employment Law

345.417                        Irish Criminal Law      

346.0150417               Irish Family Law         

346.020417                 Irish Contract Law      

346.030417                 Irish Tort Law 

346.0660417               Irish Company Law    

346.070417                 Irish Commercial Law

347.0120417               Irish Judicial Review   

    

Databases related to LAW

Independent College Dublin offers library users access to Thomson Reuters Westlaw UK, and Westlaw IE.  Both are legal databases that include secondary and primary legal sources. Users can conduct efficient and insightful research with access to statutes, codes, and case laws. For a complete listing of legal journals that allow access to FULL-text articles click on the following links. Remember, you need to access both these websites by signing into OPEN ATHENS. 

Westlaw UK FULL-text journal listing

Westlaw IE FULL-text journal listing