Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Basics: Theses and Business Projects

A basic guide to library research, proper citation, avoiding plagiarism, planning your thesis.

Tip: Search Independent College Dublin theses, dissertations and business projects in our catalogue with the keywords 'business thesis' for final year BAAF, BAM and BABS business projects and find postgraduate dissertations or theses with the keyword 'MADR.'

eTheses Worldwide

DART-Europe: e-Theses Portal
DART-Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia who are working together to improve global access to European research theses. DART-Europe is endorsed by LIBER (Ligue des Bibliothèques Européennes de Recherche), and it is the European Working Group of the Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD).

EThOS: e-theses Online Service

Search over 500,000 UK doctoral theses. Download instantly for your research, or order a scanned copy quickly and easily. Note that Oxford and Cambridge do not participate in this scheme so contact them directly:
Bodleian Library, Oxford
Cambridge University Library

Many US Ph.D. theses are available for purchase/download directly from ProQuest's Dissertation Express service.  Obtain access to Canadian theses through Library and Archives Canada

Graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions.

National Institutional Repositories

 

Recommended Resources

Recommended Databases

Sage Research Methods: A research database featuring 986 book and reference titles, 344 journal articles; 75 exclusive videos; and Project Planner: guides users in planning their research project. For a complete guide to using this electronic resource check out the Sage Research Methods LibGuide.

Recommended Reading

Your Research Project by Nicholas Walliman (2011) at 001.42 WAL in the Research Collection 

Research Methods: The Basics by Nicholas Walliman (2018) at 001.42 WAL in the Research Collection 

The Good Research Guide by Martyn Descombe (2018) at 300.72 DEN in the Research Collection 

Doing Your Research Project: a guide for first-time researchers by Judith Bell and Stephen Waters (2018) at 300.72 DEN in the Research Collection 

How to Do your Research Project: a Guide for Students by Gary Thomas (2017) at 300.72 THO in the Research Collection 

Succeeding with your Master's Dissertation: a Step-by-Step Guide by John Biggam (2017) at 808.066 THO in the Research Collection